Home

What's new

Whirling Dervishes Perform at Commonwealth Bank Iftar

The Commonwealth Bank Iftar Dinner on 21 June 2014 featured a Whirling Dervishes performance with members of the Naqshbandi Haqqani Sufi Order. The event took place at the Arts Centre Melbourne.

Vegie Mum Restaurant Serves Up Fully Vegetarian Iftar Dinner

The Melbourne chapter of the Dharma Drum Mountain Buddhist Association hosted an iftar dinner at Vegie Mum Restaurant in partnership with the Australian Intercultural Society and with support from the Victorian Multicultural Commission. The dinner took place on Friday, 18 July 2014. 

Emceed by Dr Di Cousens and AIS Executive Officer Esma Yucel, the evening began with a moment of silence for the victims of the MH17 crash. Then the dedication of merits was given by Zimwock Rinpoche, followed by the Muslim call to prayer (adhan) and the breaking of the fast. The impressive 10-course menu was both vegetarian and vegan. The dishes ranged from black pepper vegetarian duck to sweet and sour vegetarian ribs. Many cups of hot tea accompanied the meal as well.

Speeches were given by Cr Philip Daw on behalf of Sharon Ellis, Mayor of Whitehorse City Council; Bhakta Dasa from the Hindu Community Council of Victoria; Fr Nick de Groot SVD from the Janssen Centre; Catholic priest Fr Bob MaguireAhmet Polat, executive director of AIS; and Laura Chan, president of the Dharma Drum Mountain Buddhist Association. 

Sadik Kirazli recited several verse from the Quran, and Ven Chi Kwang Sunim recited from the Buddhist scripture. Anne Norman gave a shakuhachi flute performance.

The evening concluded with the transfer of merits by Ven Phuoc Tan, a vote of thanks from AIS President Ergun Kirmaci, and the presentation of gifts of thanks to the night's speakers.

 

Vegie Mum Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Vegie Mum on Urbanspoon

 

Upcoming Events

Thu Jul 24, 2014 @ 5:00PM -
La Trobe University Iftar Dinner 2014
Mon Aug 25, 2014 @11:45AM - 01:45PM
Luncheon with the Lord Mayor of Melbourne
Sat Sep 06, 2014 @ 8:00AM - 12:00AM
Timeless Cities Study Tour to Turkey 2014
Wed Oct 15, 2014 @12:00AM
Luncheon with Adam Bandt, Green Party Deputy Leader
Wed Oct 29, 2014 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Australia and Turkey Dialogue Platform
Sat Dec 06, 2014 @12:00AM
2014 Anatolian Cultures and Arts Festival
Mon Dec 08, 2014 @12:00AM
"Love is a Verb" Documentary (exact date TBA)
Wed Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Whirling Dervishes 2014

Past Events, Photos, and Videos

Thu Jul 24, 2014 @ 5:00PM -
La Trobe University Iftar Dinner 2014
Tue Jul 22, 2014 @ 5:00PM - 07:30PM
Deakin University Iftar Dinner 2014
Mon Jul 21, 2014 @ 5:00PM -
Commonwealth Bank Iftar Dinner
Fri Jul 18, 2014 @ 4:45PM -
Buddhist Iftar Dinner 2014
Tue Jul 15, 2014 @ 4:30PM -
Rotary Club Iftar Dinner 2014
Thu Jul 10, 2014 @ 4:30AM -
African Communities Iftar Dinner 2014
Mon Jun 30, 2014 @ 4:30PM -
Victorian State Parliament Iftar Dinner 2014
Wed Jun 04, 2014 @11:45AM - 01:45PM
AIS Luncheon Series Presented by Jon Faine
Wed May 28, 2014 @ 7:00PM - 09:30PM
ACU Interfaith Conference - Luncheon 28 May 2014
Sat May 03, 2014 @ 8:00AM - 12:00AM
ANZAC Spirit Study Tour to Turkey 2014
Tue Apr 15, 2014 @ 7:00PM -
Glimpses of Turkey Night 2014
Mon Apr 14, 2014 @12:30PM - 03:00PM
Panel Discussion with Prof. Ihsan Yilmaz and Prof. Greg Barton - 2014
Sat Mar 22, 2014 @ 3:00PM -
Saturday BBQ 22 March
Sat Mar 15, 2014 @ 3:00PM -
Saturday BBQ 15 March
Wed Mar 05, 2014 @12:00PM - 01:45PM
Luncheon with the President of the Australian Human Rights Commission Prof. Emeritus Gillian Triggs
Sat Feb 22, 2014 @ 3:00PM - 08:00PM
Saturday BBQ 22 Feb
Sat Feb 15, 2014 @ 3:00PM - 08:00PM
Saturday BBQ 15 Feb
Thu Feb 13, 2014 @11:45AM - 01:45PM
Hon Daniel Andrews Luncheon 13 Feb 2014

Intercultural Study Tours

The AIS is organising several projects for 2014 and 2015 which include a ANZAC Spirit Study Tour. For more information on Study Tour registration and itinerary, please contact the AIS. Read more...

Ramadan Iftars

Iftar dinner programs will commence with the beginning of Ramadan. Read more...

Luncheon Forums

Luncheon forums are designed to cultivate friendship, celebrate multiculturalism, promote dialogue, social harmony and social inclusiveness and deepen intercultural awareness among the many diverse cultures of Australia. Read more...
 

Conferences

Australian Intercultural Society organises several intercultural conferences aimed to benefit relationships between different communities. Read more...

Copyright Notice

All materials contained on this site are protected by Australian copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of The Australian Intercultural Society or in the case of third party materials, the owner of that content. You may not alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content.