Home

What's new

Speakers at AIS Luncheon Emphasise Community Responsibility for Refugees

 

On 15 October 2014, the Australian Intercultural Society hosted a luncheon, "Employment amongst people from refugee backgrounds", for approximately 80 guests representing 60 different organisations. Bringing together a wide range of Melburnians to discuss such an important topic was the primary motivation for organising this event. 

The keynote speaker was Adam Bandt, Australian Greens Deputy Leader and MP for Melbourne. The event was facilitated by Ramesh Kumar, General Manager of Settlement and Asylum Seeker Programs at AMES. Welcoming remarks were given by Justice Shane Marshalla judge of the Federal Court of Australia. 

A common theme that emerged was integration of services and the idea that refugees are everyone's responsibility. "Whether you like it or not, refugees are a part of the community," Kumar said. 

Unfortunately, unemployment and also underemployment are realities for many refugees, even for those with tertiary qualifications.

Drawing on current research, Bandt identified 4 reasons that people from refugee backgrounds might struggle to find suitable employment: a lack of Australian work experience and references, language difficulties, a lack of local contacts and networks, and the inability to have overseas qualifications recognised in Australia.

To address these issues, Bandt called for additional research, funding and the establishment of national and state policies and strategies, as well as community-led approaches that tailor solutions for individuals.

Following a Q&A session, the event concluded with brief remarks from AIS Executive Director Ahmet Polat

We thank our sponsor, i4 Flooring, for their generous support for this event.

AIS Director Lends Expertise to Article in The Age

AIS Executive Director Ahmet Polat described causes of and responses to radicalisation for an article in The Age on Saturday, 27 September 2014. The article, titled 'Melbourne police stabbing: Radicalisation must be fought with inclusivity', was written by political editor Michael Gordon. 

The full article is available here.

 

~

Upcoming Events

Tue Nov 25, 2014 @10:30AM - 11:45AM
Morning Tea with Greg Barton and Mehmet Ozalp
Sat Dec 06, 2014 @ 5:00PM - 07:00PM
2014 Anatolian Culture and Arts Festival VIP Program
Tue Dec 09, 2014 @ 6:00PM - 08:30PM
"Love is a Verb" Documentary
Wed Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Whirling Dervishes 2014
Thu Jan 01, 2015 @12:00AM
Luncheon with Deborah Glass [date TBA]
Mon Jun 22, 2015 @12:00AM
2015 Victorian State Parliament Iftar Dinner
Wed Jun 24, 2015 @12:00AM
Balkan Communities Iftar Dinner
Sat Aug 01, 2015 @12:00AM
August Luncheon with Ged Kearney [date TBA]

Past Events, Photos and Videos

Wed Oct 15, 2014 @11:45AM - 01:45PM
Luncheon with Adam Bandt, Australian Greens Deputy Leader
Sat Sep 20, 2014 @12:00AM
Timeless Cities Study Tour to Turkey 2014
Mon Aug 25, 2014 @11:45AM - 01:45PM
Luncheon with the Lord Mayor of Melbourne
Thu Jul 24, 2014 @ 5:00PM -
La Trobe University Iftar Dinner 2014
Tue Jul 22, 2014 @ 5:00PM - 07:30PM
Deakin University Iftar Dinner 2014
Mon Jul 21, 2014 @ 5:00PM -
Commonwealth Bank Iftar Dinner
Fri Jul 18, 2014 @ 4:45PM -
Buddhist Iftar Dinner 2014
Tue Jul 15, 2014 @ 4:30PM -
Rotary Club Iftar Dinner 2014
Thu Jul 10, 2014 @ 4:30AM -
African Communities Iftar Dinner 2014
Mon Jun 30, 2014 @ 4:30PM -
Victorian State Parliament Iftar Dinner 2014
Wed Jun 04, 2014 @11:45AM - 01:45PM
AIS Luncheon Series Presented by Jon Faine
Wed May 28, 2014 @ 7:00PM - 09:30PM
ACU Interfaith Conference - Luncheon 28 May 2014
Sat May 03, 2014 @ 8:00AM - 12:00AM
ANZAC Spirit Study Tour to Turkey 2014
Tue Apr 15, 2014 @ 7:00PM -
Glimpses of Turkey Night 2014
Mon Apr 14, 2014 @12:30PM - 03:00PM
Panel Discussion with Prof. Ihsan Yilmaz and Prof. Greg Barton - 2014
Sat Mar 22, 2014 @ 3:00PM -
Saturday BBQ 22 March
Sat Mar 15, 2014 @ 3:00PM -
Saturday BBQ 15 March
Wed Mar 05, 2014 @12:00PM - 01:45PM
Luncheon with the President of the Australian Human Rights Commission Prof. Emeritus Gillian Triggs

Intercultural Study Tours

The AIS is organising several projects for 2014 and 2015 which include a ANZAC Spirit Study Tour. For more information on Study Tour registration and itinerary, please contact the AIS. Read more...

Ramadan Iftars

Iftar dinner programs will commence with the beginning of Ramadan. Read more...

Luncheon Forums

Luncheon forums are designed to cultivate friendship, celebrate multiculturalism, promote dialogue, social harmony and social inclusiveness and deepen intercultural awareness among the many diverse cultures of Australia. Read more...
 

Conferences

Australian Intercultural Society organises several intercultural conferences aimed to benefit relationships between different communities. Read more...

Copyright Notice

All materials contained on this site are protected by Australian copyright law and may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, displayed, published or broadcast without the prior written permission of The Australian Intercultural Society or in the case of third party materials, the owner of that content. You may not alter or remove any trademark, copyright or other notice from copies of the content.